John

John portraitI am a non-traditional student who has decided to undergo a career change. I have a background in chemistry and I am currently enrolled in the University of Maryland Baltimore School of Pharmacy at USG. It’s a tough program, and they overload us with insane amounts of material and coursework, but it’s incredibly satisfying completing a medical module and confidently saying to yourself that you now know how to treat this disease state. Keeping your grades up is important, but if you want your resume to stand out, you have to do professional networking as well. I am the Vice President of Membership for the professional fraternity LKS. As a member, I help educate the public on medication administration and safety. We also attend meetings and go to conferences to help students network, refine their CVs, and ultimately achieve their career goals.

Outside of school, I enjoy spending time with my family. I am married and have a seven-year-old boy who keeps me busy. We hike or bike at the local park and try to catch frogs at the stream. My son’s scheduled is hectic too.  There seems to be a birthday party almost every other weekend. He is also doing MSI soccer and Cub Scouts, which keeps me busy as his personal chauffeur. When we finally get home and go to bed, we always read books.

My hobbies include cosmology, reading and writing science fiction stories, and playing the occasional video or board game with my friends. I’ve sadly accumulated many board games and have no time to play them due to my heavy work schedule. By the time I’m through with Pharmacy School, my son will be around the age he can start picking up complicated board games. I look forward to the day when I can start teaching him to be a strong competitor in games such as Eminent Domain, Seven Wonders, and Firefly: The Boardgame.

With my blog, I hope to give you a glimpse of my life around Montgomery County and how I try my best to maintain a school/life balance without going insane. Having my academic program at the USG campus has been great in helping me work toward my career goals while still staying close to home and spending time with my family as much as possible. If you work hard and manage your time, you can do it, too!